clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NC State selected as one of 16 NCAA Baseball Tournament Regional Hosts

Wolfpack will host Raleigh Regional

The NCAA has announced their 16 regional host locations for the NCAA Baseball Tournament, and NC State has been selected as one of those 16 regional host seeds. The full tournament field, as well as the ranking of those 16 regional host seeds - including the top 8 seeds, which are guaranteed to host a Super Regional should they advance from the Regional round - are to be announced on Monday. NC State is highly unlikely to receive a Top 8 national seed, but hosting a regional in Raleigh provides a statistically much better path to the College World Series in Omaha, NE.

College baseball has been strong this year in North and South Carolina, and that is reflected in the regional host selections. Five of the 16 regionals will be held in the Carolinas. In addition to the Raleigh Regional, the other Carolinas regionals include: Chapel Hill, NC (UNC-Chapel Hill); Clemson, SC; Conway, SC (Coastal Carolina), and Greenville, NC (East Carolina).

The top 13 ranked teams in RPI recieved a hosting bid, plus Coastal Caolina (17), NC State (20), and Texas (22).

Full NCAA Tournament details will be revealed at noon on Monday on ESPNU.