clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Three NC State players named to 2017 First Team All-ACC squad

Ten Wolfpack players receive 11 overall honors

NCAA Football: North Carolina at North Carolina State Rob Kinnan-USA TODAY Sports

The ACC announced the 2017 All-ACC Football squads this afternoon with three NC State players receiving First Team honors, three more receiving recognition on the Second Team, two on the Third Team, and three Honorable Mention honorees.

Bradley Chubb finished third overall in voting and led all defensive players in votes (168) while being the lone NC State representative on the First Team defense. Chubb leads the league in sacks and tackles-for-loss.

On the offensive side of the ball, Nyheim Hines (148 votes) and Jaylen Samuels (147 votes) were named to the first team at the Running Back and All Purpose positions, respectively. Hines leads the league in all-purpose yardage. This is the second First Team honor for Samuels (2015 TE).

Kelvin Harmon (108 votes), Will Richardson (87 votes), and Tony Adams (81 votes) were named to the Second Team offensive unit while Ryan Finley (37 votes) was named to the Third Team offensive unit. Hines joined Finley on the Third Team, garnering 45 votes as a special teams player. Technically, Hines 193 votes were the most of any player, but I suppose that’s not really how these things work.

AJ Cole (38 votes), BJ Hill (36 votes), and Garrett Bradbury (30 votes) all received Honorable Mention honors.

The 11 overall honors mark the most for NC State under coach Dave Doeren, as well as the most players placed on any of the respective 1st, 2nd, or 3rd team units under Doeren’s watch.

Previously under Doeren, the Wolfpack had two All-ACC selections in 2013 (both Honorable Mention), four in 2014 (1 First Team, 3 Honorable Mention), seven in 2015 (2 First Team, 1 Second Team, 4 Honorable Mention), and six in 2016 (2 Second Team, 1 Third Team, 3 Honorable Mention).