clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Payton Wilson is the 2023 Butkus Award winner

NCAA Basketball: Maryland - E. Shore at N.C. State Jaylynn Nash-USA TODAY Sports

Payton Wilson was surprised during the men’s basketball game Wednesday night with the news that he’d won the Butkus Award, which is given to the nation’s best linebacker. Dave Doeren and Tony Gibson were there to celebrate the achievement, as was Dick Butkus’ son, Matt.

After missing out on the Nagurski Award on Monday and sitting through a ceremony that rivaled the Oscars in length (I guess now he knows how Elizabeth Taylor felt all those years), he was probably pretty glad the hardware came to him this time.

Wilson was one of five finalists for the Butkus Award, and he’s also still up for the Chuck Bednarik Award—that goes to the outstanding defensive player of the year—along with Alabama’s Dallas Turner and UCLA’s Laiatu Latu. The winner of that one will be announced during ESPN’s college football awards show on Friday night.