clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

NC State women's basketball team announces 2016-17 schedule

New, 6 comments
Jamie Rhodes-USA TODAY Sports

In case you've forgotten, there's more than one basketball team on campus with exciting prospects for the 2016-17 season. The Wolfpack Women are coming off a good year that ended with an NCAA tournament snub and are loading up with a talented recruiting class led by Aislinn Konig, who should be an immediate impact player at guard.

The Pack's full schedule was released on Thursday, and below is the conference portion of it. (The women still play a 16-game league schedule.)

Day Date Time (ET) Opponent Location TV
Thursday Dec. 29 7 p.m. No. 1 Notre Dame Raleigh ACCNE
Monday Jan. 2 7 p.m. at No. 15 FSU Tallahassee ACCNE
Thursday Jan. 5 7 p.m. No. 18 Miami Raleigh ACCNE
Sunday Jan. 8 2 p.m. at Wake Forest Winston-Salem RSN
Thursday Jan. 12 7 p.m. at No. 20 Syracuse Syracuse
Sunday Jan. 15 3 p.m. Duke Raleigh RSN
Sunday Jan. 22 2 p.m. Clemson Raleigh ACCNE
Thursday Jan. 26 7 p.m. Pittsburgh Raleigh ACCNE
Sunday Jan. 29 3 p.m. at UNC-CH Chapel Hill RSN
Thursday Feb. 2 7 p.m. at No. 2 Louisville Louisville
Thursday Feb. 9 7 p.m. at Georgia Tech Atlanta
Sunday Feb. 12 2 p.m. Virginia Tech Raleigh ACCNE
Thursday Feb. 16 7 p.m. at Boston College Chestnut Hill
Sunday Feb. 19 2 p.m. Wake Forest (H4H) Raleigh ESPN
Thursday Feb. 23 7 p.m. UNC-CH Raleigh RSN
Sunday Feb. 26 2 p.m. at Virginia Charlottesville ACCNE

(ACCNE = ACC Network Extra = ESPN3)

State dropped resume-defining games it probably should have won on a few occasions last season and will have an early opportunity to prove that won't be the case in 2017. Tough start to league play, and Notre Dame and Louisville are on a tier above everybody, but with Duke and Carolina fading this is not an especially deep league.

Wes Moore's crew has a pretty good shot at improving on their 10-6 ACC record last season, and if they do, there shouldn't be any doubt about their place in the NCAAs.